21 Days of D3.js follow up

This is a follow-up to the post I did last year 21 days of D3.js .

Last year I wanted to learn D3.js. For those of you who do not know, D3.js stands for Data Driven Documents. The D3.js library is used in many journalism sites one of them being the New York Times.

Last year my goal was to create 21 different data visualizations within 21 days.  My inspiration for this goal came from Jen Dewalt’s 100 site in 100 days.  I’ve tried many times to learn how to use this library and just gave up.  If you check back on my first blog post from three years ago that was my first attempt at learning D3.js. In retrospect, I was not successful the first time around because I lacked a lot of background programming knowledge. When you are trying to learn something new, you have to take baby steps and celebrate your victories.

The learning curve for d3.js is high.

Before attempting to learn D3 I would suggest spending a week or two learning basic javascript. I learned how to program in javascript on Free Coding Camp. Like the name suggests it’s an online coding bootcamp and it’s totally free. The bootcamp provides tutorials, algorithm problems, portfolio projects, it has a massive online community so when you feel stuck you can ask questions and they will be answered quickly. If online MOOCs are not your thing I would suggest reading Eloquent Javascript which is also free to read online. I personally like Jon Duckett’s Javascript and Jquery:Interactive Front End Development .

I am currently  on my seventh day trying to learn D3 and its a lot better than the first couple of tries. I borrowed Scott Murray’s Interactive Data Visualization for the Web from the library, the book is also completely free on the O’Reilly website. And there is also a book on LearnPub called D3 Tips and Tricks which is free by Maclom Maclean. The next couple of post will be ramblings of me trying to learn d3.js. If anyone has any good suggestions don’t hesitate to make a comment.

 

Leave a Reply

