Windows 8-Troubleshooting Media Disconnected

So last week my Windows 8.1 OS went through an update. After it finished updating itself I was not able to recieve any internet connection wifi or landline. When I checked my internet connection on the command line using ipconfig it said Media Disconnected. So  in order to save someone out there frustration I am going to do a brief walk through on how I solved my problem.

 

windows8

Go to the cmd right click and run as administrator.

cmd

Next type inetcpl.cpl and preser enter a popup box with the title Connections will appear. Go to the tab that says LAN Settings make sure all the boxes are unchecked click ok.

lan_settings_1

lan_settings

In the command line type ncpa.cpl press enter. A popup box with the title  Network  Connections will appear right click wifi connections and click enable.

wifi

 

You internet connection should be restored.

2 thoughts on “Windows 8-Troubleshooting Media Disconnected

  1. None of that worked. My DNS server was locked into 8.8.8.8. Once I cleared the manual preferred settings box in the TCP/IPV4 menu which was set to 8.8.8.8, and checked the obtain DNS server address automatically box it then got my DNS address correctly.

Leave a Reply

